top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaffaela

Asja



Born in 1999, Asja Cresci is an Italian singer-songwriter from Tuscany. The young emerging artist bases her light-hearted lyrics on her real life “bad luck” experiences. In 2018, she appeared on The Voice of Italy, and was chosen by Lacuna Coil singer, Cristina Scabbia.


Asja released her first single, “Singhiozzo,” on December 3, 2021, through the Label, Maionese project, and was shortly followed by a music video. With the same label, she released her new single, “L’arte del procrastinare,” was released on March 4, 2022.



Classe 1999, Asja Cresci è una cantautrice italiana toscana. La giovane artista emergente basa i suoi testi spensierati sulle sue esperienze di "sfortuna" nella vita reale. Nel 2018 è apparsa in The Voice of Italy ed è stata scelta dalla cantante dei Lacuna Coil, Cristina Scabbia.


Asja ha pubblicato il suo primo singolo, "Singhiozzo", il 3 dicembre 2021, attraverso il progetto Label, Maionese, ed è stato subito seguito da un video musicale. Con la stessa etichetta, ha pubblicato il suo nuovo singolo, "L'arte del procrastinare", uscito il 4 marzo 2022.


 

What inspired you to become a musician?

Cosa ti ha ispirato a diventare un musicista?


I don't know if there is anything in particular, probably the fact that my mother sang and played the piano will have anticipated my artistic discovery, but I think it is something that would have come in time anyway. I strongly believe in "missions" in life, and I like to think that mine is to nourish myself and contaminate myself with art.


Non so se ci sia un qualcosa in particolare, probabilmente il fatto che mia madre cantasse e suonasse il piano avrà anticipato la mia scoperta artistica, ma credo che sia una cosa che sarebbe comunque venuta nel tempo. Credo molto nelle “missioni” nella vita e mi piace pensare che la mia sia quella di nutrirmi e contaminarmi d’arte.


How old were you when you started playing (music)?

Quanti anni avevi quando hai iniziato a suonare?


I was about 5 when I started taking singing lessons and doing some small musicals in my city. Then from there other paths opened and it was a discovery every day.


Avevo circa 5 anni quando ho iniziato a prendere lezioni di canto e a fare qualche piccolo musical nella mia città. Poi da lì si sono aperte altre strade ed è stata una scoperta ogni giorno.


How would you describe your music?

Come descriveresti la tua musica?


Sincere. I think the fact comes that I would like to tiptoe into the current musical panorama with clarity... talking about the things that surround me, about my conceptions and perceptions of the world. I would never be able to talk about something that does not belong to me or that I have not experienced.


Sincera. Credo che arrivi il fatto che vorrei entrare, in punta di piedi, nel panorama musicale attuale con limpidezza… parlando delle cose che mi circondano, delle mie concezioni e percezioni del mondo. Non riuscirei mai a parlare di un qualcosa che non mi appartiene o che non ho vissuto.


What is your favorite song to perform?

Qual è la tua canzone preferita da esibire?


The one I haven't written yet. I like to think that the best is yet to come and that there will still be many evolutions within me. Each song I wrote represents a precise moment in my life and sometimes those moments come back like a boomerang and remind me that in the end I am always the same, evolving, but always me.


Quella che non ho ancora scritto. Mi piace pensare che il meglio deve ancora venire e che ci saranno tante evoluzioni ancora dentro di me. Ogni brano che ho scritto rappresenta un momento preciso della mia vita e a volte, quei momenti, tornano indietro come boomerang e mi fanno ricordare che poi alla fine io sono sempre la stessa, in evoluzione, ma sempre me.


Which famous musicians do you admire?

Quali musicisti celebri ammiri?


As I mentioned a little in my first answer, I love contaminations and therefore the various fusion. I like to range from one genre to another, even if I never deny my matrix (R&B, NEW SOUL passing from Chaka Khan to things of the more current scene like Hiatus Kayote) but I have understood, over time, that even in the things that you would never expect to hear there is still something to watch out for. I love electronics especially when it merges with something else, for me in Italy, Subsonic have been true avant-garde. But also, the female songwriting scene that smacks of truth like Carmen Consoli or Levante.


Come ho un po’ accennato nella prima mia risposta adoro le contaminazioni e quindi le varie fusion. Mi piace spaziare da un genere all’altro, anche se non rinnego mai la mia matrice (R&B, NEW SOUL passando da Chaka Khan a cose del panorama più attuale come gli Hiatus Kayote) ma ho capito, nel tempo, che anche nelle cose che non ti aspetteresti mai di ascoltare c’è comunque qualcosa a cui prestare attenzione. Adoro l’elettronica soprattutto quando si fonde con altro, per me in Italia, i Subsonica sono stati veri avanguardisti. Ma anche il panorama cantautoriali femminile che sa di verità come Carmen Consoli o Levante.


What is the best advice you’ve been given?

Qual è il miglior consiglio che ti è stato dato?


“Take your time, I know and remember the 20 years' urge to do and have everything at once. But learn to listen to and respect yourself... things come if you let them flow." I try to repeat this to myself every moment when anxiety tries to trip me.


“Prenditi il tuo tempo, conosco e ricordo la smania dei 20 anni di fare e avere tutto subito. Ma impara ad ascoltarti e rispettarti... le cose vengono se le lasci scorrere”. Cerco di ripetermelo in ogni momento in cui l’ansia prova a farmi lo sgambetto.


What’s next for you?

Qual è il prossimo per te?


I plan to release another single and then maybe who knows... go back to do live and make my music known. In the meantime, I enjoy my art of procrastinating.


Ho in programma l’uscita di un altro singolo e poi magari chissà... tornare a fare live e far conoscere la mia musica. Nel frattempo, mi godo la mia arte del procrastinare.


 

Social Media:


 

Translations have been edited for clarity

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page