top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaffaela

Nemos



European artist Nemos is originally from Italy but has lived in northern Europe for quite some time. Nemos’ choice to not show his face or use his real name comes from the preference to communicate through music.


In October 2019, Nemos released his first album, “Your Name on the Next Page,” with songs both in Italian and English, as well as instrumental ones. His second album, “Barbarians,” was released in April 2020, followed by his third and most recent album, “La leggenda del soldato gentile,” in July 2021.



L'artista europeo Nemos è originario dell'Italia ma vive da tempo nel nord Europa. La scelta di Nemos di non mostrare il suo volto o usare il suo vero nome deriva dalla preferenza di comunicare attraverso la musica.


Nell'ottobre 2019 Nemos ha pubblicato il suo primo album, “Your Name on the Next Page”, con brani sia in italiano che in inglese, oltre a brani strumentali. Il suo secondo album, "Barbarians", è stato pubblicato nell'aprile 2020, seguito dal suo terzo e più recente album, "La leggenda del soldato gentile", nel luglio 2021.


 

What inspired you to become a musician?

Cosa ti ha ispirato a diventare un musicista?


Thank you so much for this space. Actually, I wouldn't call myself a musician but one who writes and plays songs. I was inspired by the love for music and the need for expression, which in my opinion is a primary need. Every form of art allows you to express it, in my case this happens through music.


Grazie mille per questo spazio. In realtà non mi definirei un musicista ma uno che scrive e suona canzoni. Mi ha ispirato l’amore per la musica e la necessità di espressione, che a mio avviso è un’esigenza primaria. Ogni forma di arte permette di esprimerla, nel mio caso questo avviene attraverso la musica.


How old were you when you started playing (music)?

Quanti anni avevi quando hai iniziato a suonare?


I started in school in the 90s, then I started a rock group of which I wrote and sang the songs, writing has always been the fundamental element for me. For a long time, I abandoned it, I emigrated abroad where I have lived for many years and above all I felt I did not have a language to describe the complexity of reality, which obviously increases as it grows. A few years ago, I decided it was time to start over and I found the language I was looking for to tell the reality of these years, which is the abstract and surreal style of my songs. Meanwhile, technology was also advanced, and it was possible to self-produce and distribute an album with little means (but a lot of work). I learned to use the tools available and my first album '' Your name on the next page '' was born, released in October 2019.


Ho iniziato ai tempi della scuola negli anni ’90, poi ho messo su un gruppo rock di cui scrivevo e cantavo le canzoni, la scrittura è sempre stata l’elemento fondamentale per me. Per un lungo periodo ho abbandonato, sono emigrato all’estero dove vivo ormai da molti anni e soprattutto sentivo di non avere un linguaggio per descrivere la complessità della realtà, che ovviamente crescendo aumenta. Qualche anno fa ho deciso che era ora di ricominciare e ho trovato il linguaggio che stavo cercando per raccontare la realtà di questi anni, che poi è lo stile astratto e surreale delle mie canzoni. Nel frattempo, anche la tecnologia era avanzata ed era possibile autoprodurre e distribuire un album con pochi mezzi (ma molto lavoro). Ho imparato a utilizzare gli strumenti a disposizione ed è nato il mio primo album ‘’Your name on the next page’’, pubblicato nell’Ottobre 2019.


How would you describe your music?

Come descriveresti la tua musica?


I like to think of my songs as abstract paintings, where it is possible to distinguish overlapping images and where interpretation often remains open. My style is rather hermetic and often surreal. I use both English and Italian, sometimes even other languages, I really like the idea of ​​open interpretation of the songs - in the same song everyone can find different shades, all equally valid. At the moment I have released three albums “Your name on the next page” in 2019, “Barbarians” in 2020, and “La leggenda del soldato gentile,’’ in 2021.


Mi piace pensare alle mie canzoni come quadri astratti, dove è possibile distinguere immagini sovrapposte e dove l’interpretazione rimane spesso aperta. Il mio stile è piuttosto ermetico e spesso surreale. Utilizzo sia l’inglese che l’italiano, a volte anche altre lingue, mi piace molto l’idea dell’interpretazione aperta dei brani – nella stessa canzone ognuno può trovare diverse sfumature, tutte ugualmente valide. Al momento ho pubblicato tre album ‘’Your name on the next page’’ nel 2019, ‘’Barbarians’’ nel 2020 e ‘’La leggenda del soldato gentile’’ nel 2021.


Where have you performed? Do you have any upcoming shows?

Dove ti sei esibito? Hai dei prossimi concerti?


By its nature my project is anonymous and based on the production and dissemination of music, while my image never appears - so there are currently no concerts. Having said that, never say never - I recently received an invitation to participate in a beautiful festival of emerging music, I have not yet decided what the future will be like from this point of view, we'll see.


Per sua natura il mio progetto è anonimo e basato sulla produzione e diffusione della musica, mentre la mia immagine non compare mai - quindi al momento non sono previsti concerti. Detto questo, mai dire mai – di recente ho ricevuto un invito di partecipare a un bellissimo festival della musica emergente, non ho ancora deciso come sarà il futuro da questo punto di vista, vedremo.


Where would your ideal concert be?

Dov'è il luogo del tuo concerto ideale?


Honestly, I never thought about it, I would definitely say where there is someone who appreciates the music that is played and likes to listen to it.


Onestamente non ci ho mai pensato, direi sicuramente dove c’è qualcuno che apprezza la musica che si suona e ha piacere di ascoltarla.


What is your favorite song to perform?

Qual è la tua canzone preferita da esibire?


There are several songs that I think would fit very well live. To name a few, surely the title track of the latest album, “La leggenda del soldato gentile,” but also “Rosa” from the first album or, “Life in the evil empire,” from the second.


Ci sono diverse canzoni che a mio avviso si adatterebbero molto bene dal vivo. Per citarne qualcuna sicuramente la title track dell’ultimo album ‘’La leggenda del soldato gentile’’ ma anche ‘Rosa’’ dal primo album oppure ‘’Life in the evil empire’’ dal secondo.


Which famous musicians do you admire?

Quali musicisti celebri ammiri?


Many, to name a few fundamental ones: in Italy certainly Lucio Battisti, especially in his abstract production of the 80s and 90s, Franco Battiato, but also Zucchero, De Andre, Vasco Rossi, then like all my generation I grew up on bread and 883 to whom I am very grateful for their music and for having told the life of those years. On the international level certainly U2, the Beatles but also the Clash and many others. Every day I listen to something new that I like.


Tantissimi, per citarne alcuni fondamentali: in Italia sicuramente Lucio Battisti, soprattutto nella sua produzione astratta degli anni 80 e 90, Franco Battiato ma anche Zucchero, De Andre, Vasco Rossi, poi come tutta la mia generazione sono cresciuto a pane e 883 ai quali sono molto grato per la loro musica e per aver raccontato la vita di quegli anni. Sul piano internazionale sicuramente gli U2, i Beatles ma anche i Clash e molti altri. Ogni giorno ascolto qualcosa di nuovo che mi piace.


What is the best advice you’ve been given?

Qual è il miglior consiglio che ti è stato dato?


Definitely that of a blogger friend of mine. He is the greatest music expert I know and continually pushes me to take my music business seriously and treat it seriously and with commitment.


Sicuramente quello di un mio amico blogger. È il più grande esperto di musica che io conosca e mi spinge continuamente a prendere sul serio la mia attività musicale e trattarla con serietà e impegno.


If you could change something about the Music Industry, what would it be?

Se potessi cambiare qualcosa nel settore della musica, quale sarebbe?


I prefer to think of music purely as art, I am aware of the fact that this also involves an economic sector, but my interest is purely artistic; therefore, I don't know if my advice is worth anything. One thing I observe in this historical moment is a great focus on execution, on stage presence and on performance while the authorial side seems to me to be a bit sidelined. While it is nice to see a good performance, on the other hand I think it would be interesting to focus more on the songs and the music itself.


Preferisco pensare alla musica puramente come arte, sono consapevole del fatto che questo coinvolge anche un settore economico ma il mio interesse è puramente artistico; quindi, non so se i miei consigli possano valere qualcosa. Una cosa che osservo in questo momento storico è un grande focus sull’esecuzione, sulla presenza scenica e sulla performance mentre il lato autoriale mi sembra un po’ messo da parte. Se da un lato è bello assistere a una bella esecuzione, d’altro canto credo che sarebbe interessante concentrarsi di più sulle canzoni e sulla musica in sé.


What is a message you would like to give to your fans?

Qual è un messaggio che vorresti dare ai tuoi fan?


I would like to thank all the people who listen or have listened to my songs, it is very exciting to know that someone likes to listen to one of your songs.


Vorrei ringraziare tutte le persone che ascoltano o hanno ascoltato le mie canzoni, è molto emozionante sapere che qualcuno ha piacere di ascoltare un tuo brano.


What’s next for you?

Qual è il prossimo per te?


I'm working on a new album – unlike “La leggenda del soldato gentile,” ​​(which is almost all in Italian), this one will probably be mostly in English, I hope to be able to release it in 2022.


Sto lavorando a un nuovo album - a differenza de “La leggenda del soldato gentile” (che è quasi tutto in italiano), questo sarà probabilmente per la maggior parte in inglese, spero di riuscire a pubblicarlo nel 2022.


 

Links


 

Translations have been edited for clarity

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page