top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaffaela

Samara Bradley



Los Angeles-based Samara Bradley is a singer, composer, producer, instrumentalist, and performer, born and raised in the suburbs of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Her music has been described as 80s inspired R&B/Pop, but she was originally trained in jazz. Some of her main musical influences include Prince, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Donna Summer, Queen, Shalamar, and many more. Samara graduated from California Institute of the Arts in May of 2019 with a degree in Musical Arts.


Samara’s latest single, “Glistening,” was released in October 2021.


What inspired you to become a musician?


Both of my parents are musicians so I’ve been surrounded by a musical environment for as long as I can remember. Music was always a source of comfort for me, and it didn’t take long for me to realize that this was what I wanted to do.


How old were you when you started playing (music)?


I started taking formal violin lessons in the 2nd grade, but I have a lot of earlier memories of messing around on the piano, GarageBand, or the guitar.


It didn’t take long for me to realize that I really wanted to focus on my voice, and I believe I started taking lessons when I was 11 or 12. I’m still taking them to this day.


How would you describe your music?


I would describe my music as Nostalgia Pop. I’m heavily influenced by pop and R&B artists from the 70s, 80s and 90s and I try to pay homage to them with what I write.


When I started to really focus on singing, I was doing mostly jazz, so that is always at the root of whatever I do.

Where have you performed? Do you have any upcoming shows?


I have performed in various small venues around Los Angeles and Philadelphia so far. In Philly, all of the performances I’ve had have been jazz based, but recently my shows in LA have been my own music, which is what I’ve wanted to be doing for a long time.


Where is your ideal place to perform?


I’ve always wanted to perform in a stadium. I love big stages with crazy lights and creative visuals so that would definitely be a dream of mine. The process of putting together and rehearsing an elaborate production is one of my favorite parts of performing and I can’t wait to do that for my own music.


What is your favorite song to perform?


A tie between my own song ‘Glistening’, or a cover I do of Selena’s version of ‘Where Did The Feeling Go?’. ‘Glistening’ is just overall very fun for me, while ‘Where Did The Feeling Go’ is very passionate and more of a vocal challenge.


Which famous musicians do you admire?


Some of my main famous influences include Prince, Donna Summer, Michael and Janet Jackson, Selena, Stevie Wonder, Diana Ross, El Debarge, Jody Watley, Shalamar, and so many more.


What is the best advice you’ve been given?


Advice that I always come back to is that to be a successful creative person you have to have grit. I don’t really pay attention to unsolicited criticism or advice because at the end of the day I make music for myself, and I enjoy it. You have to be tough and do what works for you. The audience will eventually come, but it starts with you believing in what you’re doing.


If you could change something about the Music Industry, what would it be?


Musicians need to be paid more. It is practically impossible to make a living from streaming services and I don’t think that the music industry should only be accessible for people born into rich families. My favorite thing about music and art is the range of perspectives you get from people of all backgrounds. That goes away if we’re only hearing from one demographic.


What is a message you would like to give to your fans?


I’d like to say thank you for all the support over the past year! After an awful and eye opening 2020, I could have only dreamed to have the platform and opportunities that I had at the end of 2021. I’m very hopeful for what is to come!


What’s next for you?


At the moment, I have a handful of songs that I am finishing up to be released, hopefully within the next few months. I have plans to create another 80s inspired music video for my song ‘Glistening’, and I performed a lined up at The North End Hollywood on January 23rd, and my next one will be there on March 6th.


Also, after some experience performing on live streams over the course of the year, I want to begin scheduling online concerts for my TikTok audience since I know that they are all over the world and most wouldn’t be able to make it to a Los Angeles show.


I’m so excited for this year and I can’t wait for it all to come together.


 


Social Media:


 

258 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page