top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaffaela

Sammarco



“Sammarco” is the musical project of Milanese singer-songwriter Marco Sambinello, with a clear indie-pop mold. His debut in the music scene was in 2019, with the release of the album, “La parte migliore,” which was well received by critics. On the disc, the sounds and melodies wink overseas, embracing lyrics in Italian that were inspired by personal experiences in a melancholy, yet aware mood. The seven tracks were masterfully packaged by Giuliano Dottori, who took care of the recording and arrangements.The release of the album was followed by some live performances which were characterized by an acoustic and intimate set-up, allowing the songs find their best guise in a live context.


In 2022, three years after the release of Sammarco’s debut, with the artistic production of Giuliano Dottori, he released the EP, “Tutte le cose che di te vorrei bruciare.” The six simple tracks draw from the essence of his poetic and artistic references. The music and lyrics refer to classic Italian indie pop imagery containing moments of delicate poetry, immediate melodies, and a simplicity of arrangements that shows the artist’s intention of making his work extremely direct.



“Sammarco” è il progetto musicale del cantautore milanese Marco Sambinello, di chiara matrice indie-pop. Il suo esordio nel panorama musicale risale al 2019, con l'uscita dell'album, “La parte migliore”, che riceve un'ottima accoglienza dalla critica. Nel disco, i suoni e le melodie strizzano l'occhio oltreoceano, abbracciando testi in italiano ispirati da esperienze personali in uno stato d'animo malinconico ma consapevole. I sette brani sono stati magistralmente confezionati da Giuliano Dottori, che ha curato la registrazione e gli arrangiamenti. All'uscita dell'album sono seguite alcune esibizioni dal vivo caratterizzate da un allestimento acustico e intimo, che ha permesso alle canzoni di trovare la loro migliore veste in un contesto vivo.


Nel 2022, tre anni dopo l'uscita dell'esordio di Sammarco, con la produzione artistica di Giuliano Dottori, pubblica l'EP "Tutte le cose che di te vorrei bruciare". I sei semplici brani attingono dall'essenza dei suoi riferimenti poetici e artistici. La musica e i testi si riferiscono al classico immaginario indie pop italiano contenente momenti di delicata poesia, melodie immediate e una semplicità di arrangiamenti che mostra l'intenzione dell'artista di rendere il suo lavoro estremamente diretto.


 

What inspired you to become a musician?

Cosa ti ha ispirato a diventare un musicista?


As a boy when I started playing, I think it was the need to emulate, the need to keep up with the friends who already played and not feel outdone, as well as wanting to become like one of the many incredible rock guitarists I listened to. Then growing up instead, I realized that the guitar could be, combined with my voice, a means to convey and bring out what I felt inside, throw it out and exorcise it. That was the spring, the crossroads that brought me up to here.


Da ragazzo quando ho iniziato a suonare credo che sia stato il bisogno di emulare, l'esigenza di stare al passo degli amici che già suonavano e non sentirmi da meno, oltre al voler diventare come uno dei tanti incredibili chitarristi rock che ascoltavo. Poi crescendo invece, ho capito che la chitarra poteva essere, unita alla mia voce, un mezzo per veicolare e portare all'esterno quello che sentivo dentro, buttarlo fuori ed esorcizzarlo. Quella è stata la molla, il bivio che mi ha portato fino a qui.


How old were you when you started playing (music)?

Quanti anni avevi quando hai iniziato a suonare?


I was about 15 years old and my mother's classical guitar, with all the frets marked by the many plays to keep me company.


Avevo circa 15 anni e la chitarra classica di mia madre, con tutti i tasti segnati dalle tante suonate a farmi compagnia.


How would you describe your music?

Come descriveresti la tua musica?


From a technical point of view, I would say that basically it is pop and folk and indie if we want to give it a label. From a human point of view, I would say that it is belly music, music born from within and that I would like to be able to dig into the listener, I like to think so.


Da un punto di vista tecnico direi che fondamentalmente è pop è folk è indie se vogliamo dargli un'etichetta. Da un punto di vista umano direi che è musica di pancia, musica nata da dentro e che vorrei riuscisse a scavare dentro a chi la ascolta, mi piace pensarla così.


Where have you performed? Do you have any upcoming shows?

Dove ti sei esibito? Hai dei prossimi concerti?


I have played mainly in Milan and its surroundings until now, but I would like to go further, take my music elsewhere to confront myself with new realities.


At the moment, I don't have any concerts scheduled. I hope something will come out in the next few weeks.


Ho suonato prevalentemente a Milano e dintorni fino ad ora ma mi piacerebbe spingermi oltre, portare la mia musica altrove per confrontarmi con nuove realtà.


Al momento non ho concerti in programma. Spero venga fuori qualcosa nelle prossime settimane.


Where would your ideal concert be?

Dov'è il luogo del tuo concerto ideale?


It may be trivial, but I think a small club, with simple furnishings, and lots of human warmth. I think an intimate reality is ideal for me as a person, for the listener and for my songs.


Sarò banale forse ma credo sia in un piccolo club, arredamento semplice, tanto calore umano. Penso che una realtà intima sia l'ideale per me come persona, per chi mi ascolta e per le mie canzoni.


What is your favorite song to perform?

Qual è la tua canzone preferita da esibire?


Of this new EP certainly the first track "Uragano", it is simple to play, and I love to play it at the opening of the concert, it relaxes me, puts me and those who listen to me at ease, breaks the ice without being intrusive. In general, however, I think that "La parte migliore,” is the song that closes my debut album, it always excites me a lot.


Di questo nuovo EP sicuramente la prima traccia “Uragano”, è semplice da suonare e adoro eseguirla in apertura di concerto, mi rilassa, mette a mio agio me e chi mi ascolta, rompe il ghiaccio senza essere invadente. In generale invece penso che sia “La parte migliore” la canzone che chiude il mio disco d'esordio, mi emoziona sempre molto.


Which famous musicians do you admire?

Quali musicisti celebri ammiri?


There are many Italians, especially in the so-called "indie world" but above all I would definitely say Manuel Agnelli. Afterhours are by far the band that had the greatest influence on my musical growth especially as a boy. On the international level, on the other hand, I love Sufjan Stevens and Bon Iver very much, I think they are by far the two musicians I admire most.


Italiani ce ne sono tanti, sopratutto nel cosiddetto “mondo dell'indie” ma su tutti direi sicuramente Manuel Agnelli. Gli Afterhours sono in assoluto la band che ha avuto la maggiore influenza sulla mia crescita musicale sopratutto da ragazzo. A livello internazionale invece amo tantissimo Sufjan Stevens e Bon Iver, credo che siano in assoluto i due musicisti che ammiro di più.


What is the best advice you’ve been given?

Qual è il miglior consiglio che ti è stato dato?


Perhaps that of not being afraid of feeling naked in expressing what I feel when I write.


Forse quello di non aver paura di sentirmi nudo nell'esprimere quello che provo quando scrivo.


If you could change something about the Music Industry, what would it be?

Se potessi cambiare qualcosa nel settore della musica, quale sarebbe?


I believe that the music sector, like many other sectors, are strongly influenced by the time we live in. It is a frenetic, bulimic, detached time that puts appearances in the foreground over being. I don't think you can change anything specifically. Things will change based on the choices we all make in the future.


Credo che il settore della musica come tanti altri settori siano fortemente influenzati dal tempo che viviamo. È un tempo frenetico, bulimico, avulso che mette in primo piano l'apparire rispetto all'essere. Non penso si possa cambiare qualcosa direttamente nello specifico. Le cose muteranno in base alle scelte che tutti noi prenderemo nel futuro.


What is a message you would like to give to your fans?

Qual è un messaggio che vorresti dare ai tuoi fan?


I would like to tell my mom that I’m not going back for dinner... I'm joking of course, without detracting from my first fan.


Vorrei dire a mia mamma che non torno per cena... scherzo ovviamente, senza nulla togliere alla mia prima fan.


What’s next for you?

Qual è il prossimo per te?


Writing my next song.


La prossima canzone che scriverò.


 

Social Media


 

Translations have been edited for clarity

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page