top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRaffaela

Steve Everett



Steve Everett is a Pop'N'Roll™ singer & songwriter from Nashville, Tennessee. Born in Albany, GA and raised near Greensboro, North Carolina, he blends positive vibes with catchy, melodic hooks and hip, clever lyrics to form his fun musical style.


Steve studied music performance at Appalachian State University in Boone, North Carolina and has played stages ranging from The House of Blues, The Rock Boat music festival, all the way to acoustic home shows. He has been fortunate enough to tour the country (solo & full band) with national acts like Hunter Hayes, Cassadee Pope, Sister Hazel, and Michael Tolcher.


Steve’s music is featured in the video game, “NASCAR Heat,” 2, 4, and 5. His three full-length albums have been nominated for "Album Of The Year" at The 12th, 15th, and 17th annual Independent Music Awards. His song “LMNOP” was co-written with Adam Doleac & nominated for “Song of The Year,” at the International Songwriting Competition. His single, “PICK YOUR HEAD UP” was recently featured in Rolling Stone Magazine's top ten list.


Steve also loves film, golf, sports, cigars... and high-fives.


 

What inspired you to become a musician?


I don’t remember not being musical. My Dad sang opera at a really high level in the 70s and has been a choir director my whole life. I grew up singing, playing instruments, singing in choirs and being in musicals. I think I knew all along that I wanted to perform and entertain.

How old were you when you started playing (music)?


I got a guitar when I was 10 but didn't start taking it seriously until I was about 12. That's when the songs started coming. Felt like I needed an instrument to help them come out haha.


How would you describe your music?


I actually trademarked the term "Pop'n'Roll" during the early days of the covid ordeal. When I go up north, they think it's country. When I'm in the south, where I grew up, it's pop/rock haha. I just roll with it. I think I just make fun music that makes you think.

Where have you performed? Do you have any upcoming shows?


I've been at this for quite some time now, so I've been lucky enough to play with some bigger bands on some incredible stages. The only state I haven't performed in is Alaska, I think. I'm in the process of writing and scheming for the next record and tour. Just put out my 4th full-length album last April and then toured a lot. I'll be back out there this spring, but I'll be in the DC area on March 19th, as well as playing Rock By The Sea (children's cancer charity music festival) in the panhandle of Florida in May. You can find out more about the charity (I'm on the board) at RockByTheSea.org and get my updates and tour schedule at SteveEverett.net.


Where is your ideal place to perform?


Small rock clubs are undefeated. The vibe is there, there's no tv's distracting people, the sound is a priority, it's like music church. You can connect in ways that other places don't allow for.

What is your favorite song to perform?


I have a song called “Fake It” that is just a BLAST to play live. I still like the message of the song, so it doesn't get old to me. It's up-tempo, too, so it gets people moving and ready to have fun.

Which famous musicians do you admire?


I've always been partial to Tom Petty, Dave Grohl, Brandon Flowers, Sister Hazel, Ben Rector... Just folks that do their specific thing, do it really well, and then just let the chips fall. They chose a style and a voice and then just spent their careers trying to say as much with that voice as they could. I love it when artists offer their fans stability. You feel closer to artists that way.

What is the best advice you’ve been given?


That nothing someone else had, material or metaphorical, was for me. That's THEIR specific success or gift. I don't have to be jealous of it because I can't get what they have. Only they can. Just like I'm the only one who can get what's for me.

If you could change something about the Music Industry, what would it be?


The focus on music is currently lost. Our biggest music stars are brands now. They're basically reality TV stars on social media. Personality quirks, incredible looks, cutting edge style, & non-controversial content are rewarded. The mainstream market is absolutely FLOODED with content 24hrs a day. Artists are releasing a song a month, in perpetuity. The attention span is dwindling, and big music is simply placating instead of challenging. Authenticity, merit, & talent (regardless of personality or mental stability) should be the focus. The Beatles didn't even tour the last half a decade they were a band haha. They just made records. The music is what we need, the rest is just candy when you're starving to death.


What is a message you would like to give to your fans?


I appreciate both of you more than you'll ever know. Dinner on me soon.


What’s next for you?


Gonna finish up a film I'm making with my friend Paul Pfau. We filmed the process of making my most recent album during the pandemic. It really focuses on what that experience was like and what came out of it.



 

Links:

 



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page